European projects

European Grid Infrastructure

This federal e-infrastructure pools services offered by various partners in Europe for computing, storage and data. It is coordinated by the EGI Foundation and managed by the EGI Council. The EGI project brings together some 300 sites spread across 50 countries and interconnected to form a secure and reliable cloud and grid infrastructure. It provides essential resources to more than 40,000 users around the world, enabling them to meet the challenges of high-speed data processing.

The CC-IN2P3 has been an integral part of this infrastructure for more than 10 years, supplying computing, storage and various IT support services. Furthermore, the CC-IN2P3 develops and hosts the ‘Operations Portal’. This portal offers a wide spectrum of web tools for communicating with and informing various communities (operational notices, updates, etc.) and dashboards that can be used for the detection and tracking of incidents on the different resources.

eTRIKS

eTRIKS (European Translational Information and Knowledge Management Services) is a European public-private partnership that aims to speed up the development of new, safer and more effective medication for patients. The goal of the five-year programme is to manage and develop a collaborative online platform for computer analysis of biological and clinical data.

The CC-IN2P3 was chosen to be a partner of the project because of its expertise in hosting large volumes of data and supplying resources for processing it. It hosts two translational research partner projects : Abirisk (prediction to minimise anti-biopharmaceutical immunisation risk) and Oncotrack (characterisation of biomarkers for tumour prediction). It also frames the deployment of, and supplies the equipment and expertise needed to maintain, the cloud structure. In addition, the CC-IN2P3 provides remote support for partner projects of eTRIKS that have taken a more independent approach but wish to benefit from the expertise and knowledge available through the partnership.

EOSCpilot

The European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) initiative, which forms part of Horizon 2020, aims to facilitate the circulation of scientific data in Europe through a virtual infrastructure. To this end, the EOSCpilot project identifies the main barriers that prevent European research from making full use of scientific data that has been produced. It helps to develop a European policy on Open Science and to encourage good practices. It also sets out a frame of governance for EOSC and develops prototypes incorporating services and infrastructures to demonstrate the interoperability between data from various scientific spheres and infrastructures (HPC/HTC/Data).

The CC-IN2P3 takes part in WP 6 on the interoperability of data and infrastructure. This covers two tasks: the first entails analysing existing barriers to interoperability, setting out an interoperability architecture for e-infrastructures by forming a strong link with operators. The second involves the implementation of pilots to validate the concepts and architectures put forward. The IN2P3 also plays an active role in the governance WP, with responsibility for Leverage of Member States Investments. This is about evaluating the acceptability and sustainability of the proposed economic models in various members states, bodies and infrastructures.

HNSciCloud

The “Helix Nebula – the Science Cloud” project is a pre-commercial procurement tender aimed at establishing a European hybrid cloud platform that will support the computing needs of public scientific research. It includes the purchase of R&D activities with a view to using innovative cloud services adapted to a wide range of scientific applications – from particle physics to material sciences and bioinformatics.

The new services provided by these platforms should be designed to offer a range of products including computing, storage, high network connectivity and identity management and should explore the most suitable payment models for the applications involved.

The Helix Nebula project has been led by CERN since its inception and is supported by several European public research bodies and institutions, including the CC-IN2P3. It coordinated the project design phase between November 2016 and February 2017 and contributes its cloud expertise through particle physics experiments such as those conducted on the Large Hadron Collider.

INDIGO - DataCloud

The DataCloud project is financed as part of the European Union’s Horizon2020 programme and coordinated by the Italian National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN).

The goal of the project is to develop an open source data and computing platform for scientific communities. It must be deployable across a range of environment and e-infrastructures. INDIGO-DataCloud will help developers, resource suppliers, e-infrastructures and scientific communities to overcome challenges relating to cloud computing, storage and networking.

The CC-IN2P3 plays an active role in this project, especially in the implementation of the Synergy component, which is a versatile management service for integrating OpenStack infrastructures. We are also involved in Future Gateway, an interface that can be programmed via a RESTful API in accordance with CSGF API specifications and capable of facilitating access to the PaaS layer by drawing on recent web technologies.

PRACE-5IP

The European PRACE (Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe) structure, which is funded by the European Commission, is intended to increase Europe’s competitiveness in intensive computing. To achieve this it provides European academic and industrial researchers with six calculators, with complementary architectures spread across four countries, offering aggregate peak power of 18 petaflop/s.

In 2016, the CC-IN2P3 joined the 4th implementation phase of PRACE. The Centre’s reputation for excellence in terms of transferring and processing large volumes of data led to it being asked to devise a generic transfer service between major scientific instruments and data centres.

This project, like its successor, PRACE-5IP, represents an opportunity for the CC-IN2P3 to strengthen its ties with other French intensive computing practitioners, particularly the IDRIS within the CNRS.

Cet article est également disponible en : French

Projets européens

European Grid Infrastructure

Cette e-infrastructure fédère des services mis en œuvre par ses différents partenaires en Europe pour le calcul, le stockage et les données.  Elle est pilotée par la Fondation EGI et géré par le conseil EGI. Le projet EGI rassemble environ 300 sites répartis dans 50 pays et interconnectés pour former une infrastructure de grille et de cloud, sécurisée et fiable. Cette infrastructure fournit à plus de 40000 utilisateurs, dans le monde entier, les ressources indispensables pour relever les défis du traitement de données à haut débit.

Le CC-IN2P3 fait partie intégrante de cette infrastructure depuis maintenant plus de 10 ans, à travers la mise à disposition de ressources de calcul, de stockage et divers services informatiques. Par ailleurs, le CC-IN2P3 développe et héberge le “portail des Opérations “. Ce portail propose une panoplie d’outils web permettant de communiquer et d’informer les différentes communautés (annonces opérationnelles, mises à jour, etc.), ainsi que des tableaux de bords assurant la détection et le suivi d’incidents sur les différentes ressources. Les nouveaux services fournis par ces plateformes devront être conçus pour offrir une gamme de produits incluant calcul, stockage, haute connectivité réseau et gestion d’identités, et devront explorer les modèles de paiement les plus appropriés pour les applications en jeu. Au projet Helix Nebula, porté par le CERN depuis son origine, se sont joints plusieurs organismes et établissements de recherche publique européens, dont le CC-IN2P3 fait partie. Il a assuré la coordination de la phase de conception du projet, entre novembre 2016 et février 2017, et y apporte son expertise dans l’utilisation du cloud par des expériences de physique des particules comme celles du Large Hadron Collider.

eTRIKS

eTRIKS (European Translational Information and Knowledge Management Services) est un partenariat public-privé européen visant à accélérer le développement de nouveaux médicaments plus performants et plus sûrs pour les patients. Le but du projet quinquennal est la gestion et le développement d’une plateforme collaborative d’analyse bio-informatique de données cliniques accessible via Internet.

Partenaire de ce projet, le CC-IN2P3 a été choisi pour son expertise dans l’hébergement de grands volumes de données et dans la fourniture de ressources pour leur traitement. Il héberge ainsi deux projets partenaires en recherche translationnelle : Abirisk (prédiction des risques d’immunisation anti-biopharmaceutique) et Oncotrack (caractérisation des marqueurs biologiques pour la prédiction des tumeurs). D’autre part, il définit le déploiement, fournit le matériel et l’expertise nécessaire au maintien d’une structure cloud. Le CC-IN2P3 assure également un support « à distance » pour des projets partenaires d’eTRIKS qui ont choisi un engagement plus indépendant, mais qui veulent  bénéficier de l’expertise et des connaissances du partenariat.

EOSCpilot

L’initiative « European Open Science Cloud » (EOSC), réalisée dans le cadre d’Horizon 2020, vise à aboutir à une circulation des données scientifiques sur une infrastructure virtuelle en Europe. A ce titre, le projet EOSCpilot identifie les principales barrières qui empêchent la recherche européenne d’exploiter pleinement le potentiel des données scientifiques produites. Il contribue à développer une politique européenne de l’Open Science et à encourager les bonnes pratiques. Il établit un cadre de gouvernance pour l’EOSC et développe des prototypes intégrant services et infrastructures dans le but de démontrer l’interopérabilité entre données de différents domaines scientifiques et infrastructures diverses (HPC/HTC/Data).

Le CC-IN2P3 participe au WP 6 sur l’interopérabilité des données et des infrastructures qui inclut deux missions : la première concerne l’analyse des barrières existantes à l’interopérabilité, la définition d’une architecture d’interopérabilité des e-infrastructures en établissant un lien fort avec les opérateurs. La seconde concerne la mise en oeuvre des pilotes pour valider les concepts et l’architecture proposée. L’IN2P3 participe également au WP gouvernance avec la responsabilité de la tache  « Leverage of Member States Investments ». Celle-ci vise à évaluer l’acceptabilité et la durabilité des modèles économiques proposés dans les différents pays membres, organismes et infrastructures.

 

HNSciCloud

Le projet « Helix Nebula – the Science Cloud » est un appel d’offre pré-commercial visant à établir une plateforme de cloud hybride européenne pour les besoins informatiques de la recherche scientifique publique. Il inclut l’achat d’activités R&D en vue d’utiliser des services cloud innovants et adaptés à des applications scientifiques très variées, allant de la physique des particules à la science des matériaux en passant par la bio-informatique.

Les nouveaux services fournis par ces plateformes devront être conçus pour offrir une gamme de produits incluant calcul, stockage, haute connectivité réseau et gestion d’identités, et devront explorer les modèles de paiement les plus appropriés pour les applications en jeu.

Au projet Helix Nebula, porté par le CERN depuis son origine, se sont joints plusieurs organismes et établissements de recherche publique européens, dont le CC-IN2P3 fait partie. Il a assuré la coordination de la phase de conception du projet, entre novembre 2016 et février 2017, et y apporte son expertise dans l’utilisation du cloud par des expériences de physique des particules comme celles du Large Hadron Collider.

INDIGO - DataCloud

INDIGO – DataCloud est un projet financé dans le cadre du programme Horizon2020 de l’Union européenne et piloté par l’Institut national de physique nucléaire italien (INFN).

Ce projet a pour but de développer une plate-forme open source de données et de calcul destinée aux communautés scientifiques, déployable sur des environnements et e-infrastructures hétérogènes. INDIGO-DataCloud aidera les développeurs, les fournisseurs de ressources, les e-infrastructures et les communautés scientifiques à surmonter les défis actuels dans les domaines du cloud computing, du stockage et du réseau.

Le CC-IN2P3 est impliqué dans ce projet, notamment sur l’implémentation du composant Synergy, un service extensible de gestion polyvalente pour l’intégration d’infrastructures OpenStack. Et de Future Gateway, une interface programmable via API RESTful, conforme aux spécifications API CSGF, capable d’offrir un accès facilité à la couche PaaS en s’appuyant sur les technologies Web récentes.

PRACE-5IP

L’infrastructure européenne de recherche PRACE (Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe), projet financé par la Commission européenne, a pour vocation de ramener l’Europe du calcul intensif dans la compétition internationale. Pour ce faire, elle met à disposition des chercheurs académiques et industriels européens six calculateurs, aux architectures complémentaires et répartis dans quatre pays, offrant une puissance crête globale de 18 petaflop/s.

En 2016, le CC-IN2P3 a rejoint la 4ème phase d’implémentation de PRACE. L’expertise reconnue du CC-IN2P3 en termes de transfert et de traitement de gros volumes de données est mise à profit dans l’élaboration d’un service générique de transfert entre grands instruments scientifiques et centres de calcul.

Ce projet, ainsi que son successeur PRACE-5IP, constitue également une opportunité pour le CC-IN2P3 de renforcer ses collaborations avec les autres acteurs français du calcul intensif, et notamment l’IDRIS au sein du CNRS.

Cet article est également disponible en : Anglais