CC-IN2P3

IN2P3’s Computing Centre (or CC-IN2P3) is a CNRS support and research unit linked to IN2P3, the institute that pursues and coordinates research on particle physics, nuclear physics and astroparticle physics. A national research infrastructure, the CC-IN2P3 designs and operates an array of services, especially a mass storage system and mass data resources. The CC-IN2P3 has two computer rooms (each with a surface area of 850m2) with several thousand servers and libraries enabling the storage of nearly 340 petabytes of data on magnetic tapes.

CC-IN2P3 participates in some 50 international experiments and is heavily involved in managing data for major physics experiments. In particular, it is one of the 14 primary international centres for processing data generated by experiments at the LHC in CERN (Geneva), where the new Higgs boson elementary particle was discovered. It also provides a computing and storage ressources for the VIRGO experiment on gravitational waves. The next challenges that the CC-IN2P3 aims to meet relate, in particular, to managing the data of the forthcoming LHC High Luminosity project at CERN, the new SPIRAL 2 particle accelerator at GANIL, the BELLE II detector in Japan and several promising astrophysics projects such as the future LSST telescope, the EUCLID European satellite and CTA.

CC-IN2P3 also opens its resources on a limited basis to other communities. Life sciences and humanities, which both have needs similar to those of subatomic physics, benefit from a limited fraction of IT resources available at CC-IN2P3. In total, more than 2,500 researchers use the Centre IT resources, which are available 24/7 throughout the whole year.

Our services

Experiments conducted by subatomic physics researchers require the statistical analys of very large amounts of data that may be produced by an instrument (particle accelerator, telescope or satellite) or simulations. Comparing real and simulated data can then validate or invalidate certain theories specific to the discipline.

The main mission of the CC-IN2P3 is to provide these researchers with the computing power that they need and also the related information technology services. This entails providing a variety of services:

  • A mass storage system and mass data processing resources
  • Developing and managing tools for assisting scientific production
  • Hosting services

Our domains application

The main mission of the CC-IN2P3 is to deploy the infrastructure and services needed by IN2P3 researchers working on the following topics:

  • Particle physics, which aims to study the properties of the constituents of matter
  • Nuclear physics, which studies the properties of atoms’ nucleuses and their constituents, nucleons
  • Astrophysics and astroparticle physics, which study cosmic radiation and the content, structure and evolution of the universe

Some researchers may make limited use of CC-IN2P3 resources for other purposes. For example, life sciences and human and social sciences (through the Huma-Num very large research infrastructure) have needs quite similar to those of physics. Lastly, the CC-IN2P3 is involved in various transdisciplinary European or regional projects.

Our users

More than 2,500 people use CC-IN2P3 resources. Most of them are researchers, Ph. D. Students or post-doctorate scholars from IN2P3 laboratories or universities, colleges (such as INSA and ENS) under a joint supervision agreement with the CNRS or the CEA’s Institute of research into Fundamental Laws of the Universe (IRFU). In addition, resources are used by researchers (sometimes from private companies) for European or regional projects.

The CC-IN2P3 is not, however, exclusively for researchers. Technicians and engineers from the IN2P3 also have access to different software offered by the Centre (notably for detector design) and office staff regularly use some of the services run by the Centre (such as email, back-up services and so on).

Computer science research

Since 2008 the CC-IN2P3 has a team – called the CCLab – dedicated to computer science research and experimental development in preparation of future physics experiments. CCLab operates around clearly identified research projects and pools the diverse expertise of the CS researchers, scientists who use the centre resources centre and specialist engineers from the CC-IN2P3.

The team’s research themes include the simulation of distributed systems applications and scientific workflows scheduling, performance analyses of parallel codes and the study of the storage, network and pipeline aspects of applications in astroparticle physics.

The team also handles some CC-IN2P3’s participation in various national and European research projects. Lastly, the CCLab is tasked with building ties between the CS research community and scientists whose use the Computing Centre and with strengthening work with other high-performance computing centres.

Environmental policy

The CC-IN2P3 strives to ensure it runs its infrastructure in an environmentally friendly way. When the new IT room was built, bays were fitted in confined hot aisles so as to lower the energy efficiency indicator from what it had been in the older room.

Furthermore, an energy recovery unit uses the heat emitted by servers to heat the CC-IN2P3 building and also to supply heat to other buildings nearby.

The CC-IN2P3 also uses energy saving measures by increasing server virtualisation and minimising the number of physical servers. As part of the environmental policy, superfluous equipment is systematically shut down and energy-efficient equipment is purchased.

Cet article est également disponible en : French

Le CC-IN2P3

Le Centre de Calcul de l’IN2P3 (ou CC-IN2P3) est une unité de service et de recherche du CNRS (USR6402), rattaché à l’IN2P3, l’institut qui développe et coordonne les recherches en physique des particules, physique nucléaire et physique des astroparticules. Infrastructure de recherche nationale, le CC-IN2P3 conçoit et opère un ensemble de services, en particulier un système de stockage de masse et de moyens de traitement de grandes masses de données. Le CC-IN2P3 dispose de deux salles informatiques (de 850 m2 chacune) hébergeant plusieurs milliers de serveurs et de bibliothèques permettant de stocker près de 340 Pétaoctets de données sur bandes magnétiques.

Le CC-IN2P3 participe à une cinquantaine d’expériences d’envergure internationale et tient une place prépondérante auprès des grandes expériences de physique dont il gère les données. Il est en particulier l’un 14 principaux centres internationaux de traitement de données générées par les expériences installées sur l’accélérateur LHC au CERN (à Genève), lieu de découverte de la nouvelle particule élémentaire, le Boson de Higgs.  Il fournit également des ressources informatiques à l’expérience VIRGO sur les ondes gravitationnelles. Les prochains défis du CC-IN2P3 concernent en particulier le traitement de données du projet futur High Luminosity LHC au CERN, du nouvel accélérateur de particules SPIRAL 2 au GANIL, du détecteur BELLE II au Japon, mais également de projets astrophysiques prometteurs, comme celui du futur télescope LSST, le satellite européen EUCLID ou encore CTA.

Le CC-IN2P3 ouvre également, mais de façon limitée, ses ressources à d’autres communautés. Les sciences de la vie ou les sciences humaines, dont les besoins sont proches de ceux de la physique subatomique bénéficient dans une certaine mesure, des ressources informatiques du CC-IN2P3. Au total, plus de 2500 chercheurs utilisent les ressources du Centre, disponibles 24h24 et 365 jours par an.

Nos services

Les expériences des chercheurs en physique subatomique requièrent l’analyse statistique de très grandes quantités de données, qui peuvent être issues soit d’un grand instrument (accélérateur de particules, télescope, satellite), soit de simulations. La confrontation entre les données réelles et simulées permet ensuite de valider ou d’invalider certaines théories propres à la discipline.

La mission principale du CC-IN2P3 est de fournir à ces chercheurs la puissance de calcul et les services informatiques associés dont ils ont besoin, au travers de la fourniture de différents services :

  • Un système de stockage de masse et de moyens de traitement de grandes masses de données
  • Le développement et la gestion d’outils d’aide à la production scientifique
  • L’hébergement de services

Nos domaines d'application

Le CC-IN2P3 a pour mission principale de déployer l’infrastructure et les services informatiques nécessaires aux chercheurs de l’IN2P3 travaillant sur les thématiques de recherche suivantes :

  • La physique des particules, qui a pour objet l’étude des propriétés des constituants élémentaires de la matière
  • La physique nucléaire, qui étudie les propriétés des noyaux des atomes et de leurs constituants les nucléons
  • L’astrophysique et l’astroparticule, qui étudient le rayonnement cosmique, le contenu, la structure et l’évolution de l’Univers

En marge de ces disciplines, d’autres utilisent également mais dans une moindre mesure les ressources du CC-IN2P3. C’est le cas notamment des sciences de la vie et des sciences humaines et sociales (au travers de la TGIR Huma-Num) qui ont des besoins assez proches de la physique. Enfin, le CC-IN2P3 est impliqué dans différents projets, européens ou régionaux, transdisciplinaires.

Nos utilisateurs

Plus de 2500 personnes utilisent les ressources du CC-IN2P3. La majorité d’entre eux sont des chercheurs, doctorants ou post-doctorants venant des laboratoires de l’IN2P3 ou d’universités, d’écoles (INSA, ENS…) en co-tutelle avec le CNRS ou de l’Institut de recherche sur les lois fondamentales de l’Univers (Irfu du CEA). Enfin, des ressources sont utilisées par des chercheurs (parfois issues d’entreprises privées) via les projets européens ou régionaux.

Cependant, le CC-IN2P3 n’est pas dédié qu’aux chercheurs. Des techniciens et ingénieurs de l’IN2P3 ont également accès à un certain nombre de logiciels proposés par le Centre (notamment pour le design des détecteurs) et le personnel administratif utilise aussi régulièrement plusieurs services gérés par le Centre (comme le mail, les services de sauvegarde, etc.).

Recherche en informatique

Depuis 2008, le CC-IN2P3 dispose d’une équipe, le CCLab, dédiée à la recherche en informatique et au développement expérimental en préparation de la mise en production des futures expériences de physique. Organisé autour de projets de recherche bien identifiés, le CCLab combine les expertises de chercheurs en informatique, de scientifiques utilisateurs des ressources du centre et des ingénieurs experts du CC-IN2P3.

Les thématiques de recherche de cette équipe portent sur la simulation d’applications et de systèmes distribués, l’ordonnancement de workflows scientifiques, l’analyse de performance de codes parallèles, et les aspects stockage, réseau et de pipelines applicatifs dans le domaine des astroparticules.

Cette équipe assure également la participation du CC-IN2P3 à différents projets de recherche nationaux et européens. Enfin, le CCLab a pour mission de tisser des liens entre la communauté de recherche en informatique et les scientifiques utilisateurs du centre de calcul et de renforcer les collaborations avec les centres de calcul haute performance.

Démarche environnementale

Le CC-IN2P3 s’efforce d’adopter une démarche environnementale dans la gestion de son infrastructure. La construction d’une nouvelle salle informatique, avec notamment l’installation de baies en couloirs chauds confinés, a permis de diminuer l’indicateur d’efficacité énergétique par rapport à la salle de conception plus ancienne.

Un module de récupération d’énergie permet également de bénéficier de la chaleur émise par les serveurs d’une part pour chauffer le bâtiment du CC-IN2P3 et d’autre part pour fournir de la chaleur à des bâtiments alentour.

Le CC-IN2P3 poursuit également ses efforts d’économie d’énergie en augmentant la virtualisation de serveurs et en minimisant ainsi le nombre de serveurs physiques. Enfin, l’extinction systématique de toute machine inutile et l’achat de matériels avec des alimentations à bon rendement viennent compléter cette démarche environnementale.

Cet article est également disponible en : Anglais