Physics

The IN2P3 is responsible for the national animation and coordination of activities in nuclear physics, particle physics and astroparticle physics as well as the development of related technologies and applications, especially for health and energy. The goal of such research is to explore particle physics and atomic cores and the basic interactions and connections between the infinitely small and the infinitely large. The IN2P3 Computing Centre supports research in all of these disciplines by providing IT services and resources. This includes several flagship international experiments supported by the CC-IN2P3.

Particle physics

The goal of particle or subatomic physics is to study the constituents of matter and how they interact. This science is also known sometimes as high-energy physics because many elemental constituents are unstable and do not exist in a natural state, meaning they can only be detected during high-energy collisions between stable particles in particle accelerators. The deployed energies correspond to the very first moments of the universe, fractions of seconds after the Big Bang.

LHC

LHC

Based in CERN near Geneva, the LHC (Large Hadron Collider) can perform collisions of very high-energy particles. The energy released during these collisions is materialised in particles that are analysed (counted, identified and measured in terms of energy intensity, etc.) so that current theories about elemental particles can be tested. In 2012 the LHC was used to confirm the existence of the Higgs boson, the last non-observed particle in the Standard Model theory of particle physics.
In order to analyse data from the accelerator, a worldwide Computing Grid (W-LCG) was implemented. This infrastructure harnesses the capacities of scientific computing centres across Europe, America and Asia.
The CC-IN2P3 is one of 14 centres worldwide for first-level processing of LHC data and one of only four centres responsible for supplying storage and computing capacity for all four experiments fitted on the accelerator.
More information

Nuclear physics

Matters consists of molecules, which are made up of atoms. These are comprised of a central nucleus surrounded by an electronic cloud. Nuclear physics is the science that investigates the structure of the nucleus and all of the physical phenomena that involve it (fission, fusion, diffusion, radioactivity, etc.). It has various fields of application, including astrophysics, medicine (MRI, radiology, radiotherapy, etc.) and energy production.

agata

AGATA

The aim of the AGATA project is to build a 4Pi gamma-ray spectrometer solely from Germanium detectors. These multi-segmented detectors are sensitive to the position of gamma ray interaction and, therefore, can be used to form complete tracking, which is a new concept in spectroscopy. This newest spectrometer offers unmatched efficiency and sensitivity and is suited to the extreme conditions created by the latest generation of stable and radioactive ion accelerators, making it possible to study the atomic structure of nuclei up to the limits of their stability.
More information
CNRS_20160093_0099-bleu

SPIRAL 2

SPIRAL2 (2nd generation Production System of Online Radioactive Ions) is a linear particle accelerator project for studying fundamental nuclear physics and interdisciplinary research. The facility is as big as GANIL’s original installation and will produce beams like no other in the world.
More information

Astroparticle physics

Astroparticle physics, which is also called particle astrophysics, is the discipline where particle physics overlaps with astronomy and cosmology. It aims to understand the universe as a whole: on all scales (from neutrinos to galaxies), its components (stars, black holes, dark matter, etc.), the interactions between these phenomena (celestial mechanics, gravitational waves, etc.) and their role in cosmic evolution, and its history (Big Bang, expansion and so forth).

LSST

LSST

Located in Chile, the Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) is a telescope with a diameter of 8.4 metres and fitted with a 3.2 gigapixel camera. From 2022 the telescope will begin a systematic photographic survey of the sky lasting 10 years: every portion of the sky will be reviewed every four nights, thereby creating a three-dimensional film of the part of the universe visible from the site. One of the goals of this observation is to measure, with unrivalled precision, the physical quantities related to dark energy, which tends to accelerate the expansion of the universe.
More information

Cosmology

Cosmology is a branch of astrophysics that studies the origin, nature, structure and evolution of the universe. It is not concerned with cosmic objects, rather it investigates the laws that govern these objects. Cosmology seeks to gather all knowledge about the universe into a coherent whole.

Cosmology is based on observing three phenomena: the expansion of the universe, cosmic background radiation and the chemical composition of the universe. Cosmology uses the general theory to describe the universe as a whole.

euclid

EUCLID

In 2020, Euclid, the European satellite, will leave Earth to embark on an extraordinary mission: to map a whole chunk of the universe in order to understand why the expansion of the universe is accelerating and the kind of dark energy responsible for this inflation.
Euclid is a space telescope with an instrument for visible light and infrared rays. During its mission, which will last at least 6 years, it will measure the gravitational lensing of more than a billion galaxies and the way in which these are distributed through space. These measurements are expected to make it possible to gain an understanding of the characteristics of dark energy.
No fewer than 10 French laboratories are involved in this experiment.
More information
fetch-php_bleu

CTA

CTA, (‘Cherenkov Telescope Array’) is the European project of a large network of new generation Cherenkov telescopes for gamma ray astronomy at very-high energies.
The current generation of Cherenkov telescopes, such as H.E.S.S., opened up ground-based gamma ray astronomy for energy above a few dozen GeV. The next project, CTA, facilitates in-depth gamma ray exploration of our universe at very-high energies and full investigation into the non-thermal cosmic processes at work.
More information

Cet article est également disponible en : French

Physique

L’IN2P3 exerce les missions nationales d’animation et de coordination dans les domaines de la physique nucléaire, de la physique des particules et des astroparticules, des développements technologiques et des applications associées, notamment dans le champ de la santé et de l’énergie. Ces recherches visent à explorer la physique des particules et des noyaux atomiques, les interactions fondamentales et les connexions entre l’infiniment petit et l’infiniment grand. Le Centre de Calcul de l’IN2P3 soutient les recherches dans toutes ces disciplines au travers de la fourniture de ressources et services informatiques. Dans cette rubrique, sont présentées quelques expériences internationales emblématiques supportées par le CC-IN2P3.

Physique des particules

La physique des particules ou physique subatomique a pour objet l’étude des constituants élémentaires de la matière et de leurs interactions. On l’appelle aussi parfois physique des hautes énergies car de nombreux constituants élémentaires, instables, n’existent pas à l’état naturel et peuvent seulement être détectés lors de collisions à hautes énergies entre particules stables dans les accélérateurs de particules. Les énergies mises en jeu correspondent à celles des tous premiers instants de l’univers, quelques fractions de secondes après le big-bang.

LHC

LHC

Installé au CERN près de Genève, le LHC (Large Hadron Collider) permet de réaliser des collisions de particules à de très grandes énergies. L’énergie libérée lors de ces collisions se matérialise en particules dont l’analyse (comptage, identification, mesure de leur énergie, etc.) permet de tester les théories actuelles régissant le monde des particules élémentaires. En 2012, il confirme l’existence du boson de Higgs, dernière particule non observée de la théorie du Modèle Standard.
Afin d’analyser les données issues de l’accélérateur, un projet mondial de grille de calcul a été mis en œuvre : le projet W-LCG (Worldwide LHC Computing Grid). Cette infrastructure intègre la capacité de centres de calcul scientifiques distribués à travers l’Europe, l’Amérique et l’Asie.
Le CC-IN2P3 est l’un des 14 centres mondiaux de traitement de premier niveau des données du LHC et l’un des quatre seuls centres qui devront fournir la capacité de stockage et de calcul pour l’ensemble des quatre expériences installées sur l’accélérateur.
En savoir plus

Physique nucléaire

La matière est constituée de molécules, elles-mêmes constituées d’atomes. Ceux-ci sont formés d’un noyau central entouré par un nuage électronique. La physique nucléaire est la science qui s’intéresse à la structure du noyau et à l’ensemble des phénomènes physiques le faisant intervenir (fission, fusion, diffusion, radioactivité…). Elle trouve de nombreux domaines d’applications : astrophysique, médecine (IRM, radiologie, radiothérapie…), production d’énergie.

agata

AGATA

Le projet AGATA a pour but de construire un spectromètre gamma 4Pi d’une nouvelle génération constitué entièrement de détecteurs Germanium. Ces détecteurs multi-segmentés sont sensibles à la position de l’interaction des rayons gamma et permettent ainsi d’obtenir une reconstitution de traces, concept nouveau en spectroscopie. Ce spectromètre ultime, d’une efficacité et d’une sensitivité inégalées, est adapté aux conditions expérimentales extrêmes de la prochaine génération d’accélérateurs d’ions stables et radioactifs pour étudier la structure atomique des noyaux aux limites de leur stabilité.
En savoir plus
CNRS_20160093_0099-bleu

SPIRAL 2

SPIRAL 2 (Système de production d’Ions Radioactifs en Ligne de 2ème génération) est un projet d’accélérateur de particules linéaires pour des études de physique nucléaire fondamentale et de recherches interdisciplinaires. Cette installation, aussi grande que les installations d’origine du GANIL, produira des faisceaux uniques au monde.
En savoir plus

Physique des astroparticules

L’astroparticule, ou physique des astroparticules est un domaine, à l’intersection de la physique des particules, de l’astronomie et de la cosmologie. Son objectif est de comprendre l’Univers dans son ensemble : à toutes les échelles (des neutrinos aux galaxies), ses composants (étoiles, trous noirs, matière noire…), les interactions entre ceux-ci (mécanique céleste, ondes gravitationnelles…) et leur rôle dans l’évolution cosmique, et son histoire (Big Bang, expansion…).

LSST

LSST

Implanté au Chili, le Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) est un télescope de 8.4 mètres de diamètre équipé d’une caméra comptant 3.2 milliard de pixels. A partir de 2022, le télescope photographiera le ciel de manière systématique durant 10 ans : chaque portion du ciel sera revisitée toutes les quatre nuits, créant ainsi un film en 3 dimensions de la portion d’univers visible depuis le site. L’un des objectifs de ces observations est de mesurer avec une précision inégalée les quantités physiques associées à l’énergie noire qui tend à accélérer l’expansion de l’univers.
En savoir plus

Cosmologie

La cosmologie est la branche de l’astrophysique qui étudie l’origine, la nature, la structure et l’évolution de l’Univers. Elle ne s’intéresse pas aux objets cosmiques mais cherche à connaître lois auxquelles ils obéissent. La cosmologie tente de regrouper toutes les connaissances de l’Univers en un tout cohérent.

La cosmologie s’appuie sur trois observations : l’expansion de l’Univers, le fond du rayonnement cosmologique et la composition chimique de l’Univers. La cosmologie a recours à la théorie générale pour décrire l’Univers dans son ensemble.

euclid

EUCLID

En 2020, le satellite européen Euclid quittera la Terre pour une mission hors-norme : cartographier tout un pan de l’Univers, afin de comprendre pourquoi l’expansion de l’Univers s’accélère et la nature de l’énergie sombre responsable de cette inflation.
Euclid est un télescope spatial avec un instrument pour la lumière visible et un instrument pour le rayonnement infrarouge. Lors de sa mission, d’une durée de 6 ans minimum, il mesurera la déformation lenticulaire gravitationnelle de plus d’un milliard de galaxies et la façon dont celles-ci sont distribuées dans l’espace. Ces mesures devraient permettre de caractériser la nature de l’énergie sombre.
Pas moins de dix laboratoires français sont impliqués dans cette expérience.
En savoir plus
fetch-php_bleu

CTA

CTA (« Cherenkov Telescope Array ») est le projet européen de grand réseau de télescopes Cherenkov de nouvelle génération en astronomie gamma des très hautes énergies.

La génération actuelle des télescopes Cherenkov tels que H.E.S.S. a ouvert le domaine de l’astronomie gamma au sol dans le domaine d’énergie au-dessus de quelques dizaines de GeV. Le projet suivant, CTA, permet quant à lui d’explorer en profondeur notre univers en rayons gamma de très hautes énergies et d’étudier pleinement les processus cosmiques non-thermiques en jeu.

En savoir plus

Cet article est également disponible en : Anglais